What I Have

I have a handful of archival photographs from a digital archive.

I have the memory of picking blueberries and watching the sun disappear and the clouds turning into sentient beings.

I have the memory of peeking in windows.

I have the memory of being toured around inside the buildings.

I have memories six years old, one year old, and they live in me, my husband, my son.

I have the knowledge that some men died in the top floor of the main building. I have this picture of my son in that spot:

Copyright Gary R. Johnson Photography

I have a lot.

I have a little bit.

I have a lot of work to do.

And I like to work, so that’s good. I like these people who have been so brave as to call themselves forward. It’s time to get to work (again).

"... all my lovers were there with me, all my past and futures."

