absence

My absence from the ethereal can be explained. Recently my body was shaken back to the center, and my mind looked in on its cobwebbed corners and realized that every little thing is gonna be all right.

Also, I’ve been busy, cleverly contained in the daily tasks of work and home and family. I’ve been cleaning out the winter and the late spring, spritzing vinegar and lavender to shoo away the little ghosts and dusty monsters that may have gathered on the ceiling fans and in the closets.

I’ve been reading. Reading lots. I always read like a jailed poet but sometimes my brain shifts from create to consume and oh boy have I been consuming. A few things I’ve read have changed my heart forever. Some have simply made me shift in my seat and quiet down a little. Room was a revelation, and I read The Secret Garden again to reaffirm my strong belief in Magic (just to name two that I’ve read this week).

My presence will soon return quietly (I hope), and explode into a robust flame  in about six weeks. Xander will be out of school and I will be leaving my temporary position. I am needed…needed to gather all the white goose feathers and pop them into flour sacks. I’m needed to hold small hands that are trying so hard to properly write z and s and My name is Xander, I am six years old.

This is a breathing spell, a deep hold in plank. I’m stretching my body and my mind and and when we’re all ready,  I’ll push downward, and curl into child’s pose again.

 

2 thoughts on “absence

  1. Sounds like you have been productive in an inward way. Good for you!

    Question–how do you add lavender to vinegar for cleaning? Actual lavender? Or oil?

  2. I do 1 cups of water, 1/4 cup of vinegar, and several drops of oil. I pour it all directly into a spray nozzled bottle and shake. There’s probably a better way, but that’s what I use – you could do sweet orange essential oil or eucalyptus, too…I need to sit down and write about my reiki experience – it was odd and pleasant and peaceful…

"... all my lovers were there with me, all my past and futures."

