saturday

…am sitting here at my kitchen table, the one that my mother in law gave us after we moved back to Tennessee, it was made by my husband’s great-grandfather and the chairs by his grandfather. The most golden, fragrant Darjeeling tea with milk and agave is sitting next to me in the pretty blue mug (the one I agonized over buying a few summers ago). Xander is at Dollywood with a friend, Gary is in the living room reading. It’s quieter now than it’s been since school let out…outside the creek is rushing with gusto; it stormed today.

 

This perfectly lovely life. This wonderful moment. I just wanted to catch it in my hand like a firefly and watch it glow for a minute before I let it go on its way.

"... all my lovers were there with me, all my past and futures."

