Essay Winner!

My essay, Tectonic Shift, was the winner of the Knox County Friends of the Library Big Read 2010 Essay Contest (say that two times fast)! You can read it on their website.

Read Tectonic Shift here.

There’s also a short blurb in their quarterly newsletter introducing me, and the essay.

When I was working at the Lawson McGhee Library in the Children’s Room, I used to admire the always smiling, always pleasant men and women who volunteer with the friends. Sometimes all day long they would sort boxes of donated books, prepare for events, and raise funds to support the libraries and the people who work in the system. What beautiful souls. I just love them so much, so this award meant very much to me!

"... all my lovers were there with me, all my past and futures."

