forward

When we were finished I told you to throw some of the seeds into the moss, and push them down into the clay with your hands. I’m hoping at least the morning glories take root, because they’re stubbornly beautiful and grow quickly.

I used to save our cans, and drive holes in bottom with hammer and nail. Before the snow had melted the seeds had long sprouted. I remember your small fingers plucking off little bits of basil until the small, tender leaves looked like caterpillars had nibbled through them. But of course there were no caterpillars in our second floor apartment; no spiders, or ants, not even a fly until mid-July.

The ground is warm enough here, and damp enough, that everything seems to sink in. Things don’t struggle as much to flourish. Up there, things must be prickly and fierce; even the fireweed has legends attached to its growth cycles.

The dogwoods are starting to bud, I saw bits of green peeking out from brown. I wonder if our trees will have pink or white flowers? Is this what it is? To stay somewhere for longer than a season or two? To know that the seeds that you plant will be seen by your eyes, and not just the next tenants? I’m glad we signed a long lease. It’s like an insurance policy against my gypsy nature.

10 thoughts on “forward

  1. So glad you’ll get to enjoy your planted seeds! There is such beauty in the whole journey of planting and growing things!

  2. Gosh, love that final image–“an insurance policy against my gypsy nature.” There’s a lot to be said for being planted, I suppose. Right about now, however, my own gypsy nature is itching to be uprooted.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  3. “But still the clever north wind was not satisfied. It spoke to Vianne of towns yet to be visited, friends in need yet to be discovered, battles yet to be fought…” (from Chocolat). 🙂

  4. I’ve lived here for eight years now and discover new things in the yard every year. It’s a wonder.
    But then, I don’t have a gypsy nature. It’s just the sad truth.

  5. Perfect. I love this (especially today).

    Your voice is so easy here….you tend to write in elegant, longer, relaxed sentences, I think (I really like noticing how voices sound).

  6. I, too, have a tendency to roam after a short period of time. This, for me, does not work anymore with my little one in tow…and like Vianne (one of my favorite movies, Chocolat), I finally think I’ve found a home in the small (er) town on the Central Coast, living in the Yellow Submarine. But, only time tells us these things. Planting seeds, knowing you will get to see their beautiful creation, is a true metaphor. Loved this, Chrissy! Thanks so much for sharing in color. Calming and insightful. 🙂

"... all my lovers were there with me, all my past and futures."

