letters

I come from a family of postal workers, so it saddens me when I hear stories on NPR about how the USPS is suffering. Our progress has made it fade from what it once was. When I was home for my grandmother’s funeral in February, I spent a few hours going through my great-grandmothers correspondence with family in friends back in middle Tennessee. With their gloriously slanted, perfect penmanship, the ladies writing her letters asked if she had seen a color television yet, they asked if she would pray for them, they described how beautifully their gardens were turning out. Each of the letters had the light, lingering scent of Shalimar, or Youth Dew, or Chanel No. 5.

I love getting letters. Who doesn’t? A handwritten note, a birthday card, a baby announcement.

So here’s my idea. In honor of my Uncle Bob (my favorite mailman), who passed away while I was living in Alaska, I would like to start a correspondence with my readers. I promise to write old fashioned letters to you, sprayed with perfume, once a month. If you like, you can write back (or draw back, or send a photo, or a pressed flower, or a newspaper clipping you found interesting). I’ll share some of what I receive on my tumblr site.

If you’re interested in sharing in this experiment, email me your address to silverhopefin (at) gmail (dot) com.

Maybe I’ll tell you about how the fireflies are out already, how they’re blinking in the night next to my azaleas. Maybe you’ll tell me about your first love.

 

more info can be found about the project here: https://silverfinofhope.wordpress.com/join-my-mailing-list-literally/

10 thoughts on “letters

  1. Magical idea! Handwriting anything is truly becoming a lost art. In our schools here, they don’t even teach cursive any longer. How sad. There used to be such pride, character and beauty in those inked strokes.

  2. I’m glad my son’s school still does…I think he starts next year. Just this weekend he asked me to teach him how to write in cursive. It’s neat to see his own, personal handwriting emerge along with the rest of his personality.

  3. Wonderful! I’ll email you with my address soon. Do you know Stephen Elliot of The Rumpus? He’s started a letter-writing thing that has taken off nationally, but your idea is so much more personal.

  4. What a great idea! I still love getting letters in the mail. I just gone a couple of months ago and it was like finding treasure. It’s been years since I’ve received a handwritten letter other than a Christmas card. We call e-mail progress, but I’m not so sure. Handwritten letters are more personal and human than any computer screen.

  5. I’ve heard of him, and of the Rumpus, but that project flew below my radar (it’s not that strong of a radar). I think I’m going to sign up for that!! I would love to get a letter from Margaret Cho, especially. 🙂

  6. It is like finding treasure!

    I also think about the ephemera we leave when our generation moves onto the next dimension. If all of our correspondence, art, and work is digital, we leave nothing!

  7. Chrissy, I can’t believe what you are thinking sometimes. Your dad and I were just talking about lost memories of looking at a photograph album. Love your idea ~~~~~ especially, love you.

    Mom

"... all my lovers were there with me, all my past and futures."

