thought expulsion (when I should be doing the dishes)

I am drinking pineapple sage tea

and listening to Ben Howard

and dog bowl water is seeping into my stocking foot

and a candle that claims to create ‘positive energy’ in the home is burning

and the dog’s rash is better

and my boy is on his bed reading

by his choice

on a school night

and I miss my husband

and I think that our adult, complex emotions are not complex at all

they’re the same ones we had when we were babies, who often feel

sad

lonely

hungry

thirsty

tired

but I am none of those right now

the pineapple sage is said to soothe anxiety

and Ben Howard is Irish

and the dog bowl water is seeping into my stocking foot

and my boy is eating a turkey sandwich

and watching Pokemon

by his choice

on a school night

and I miss my husband

and the adult emotions that I often have are dreadfully complex, like a baby who is

sad

lonely

hungry

thirsty

tired

but I am none of those right now

5 thoughts on “thought expulsion (when I should be doing the dishes)

"... all my lovers were there with me, all my past and futures."

