the ice below our feet

Today I’ve been feeling and remembering a familiar and dull ache, a shock of chilly night on my bare thighs, my jeans pulled down and pooling around my skinny ankles.

The only warmth came from our mouths and our grasping hands, which were always so clumsy at first. I prayed silent prayers to a god who might listen to a naked sixteen year old girl…please keep us hidden. My prayers must have worked, because no midnight dog walker or concerned parent ever found us.
Maybe we were just quiet enough, and the small amount of heat we generated did not melt and crack the ice below our feet.
"... all my lovers were there with me, all my past and futures."

