Here he is with Wordsworth legs

Here he is with Wordsworth legs that flatten heather as he walks, and like a tree I stay still, waiting, not moving an inch. 

I am about to enter exams but wanted to fall in here and make my presence known. I’ve been outside more than I’ve been in; the weather has been bright and crisp. When I was little I wanted to live in a little hole in a tree, and I wanted there to be tunnels that led to my house below. Like Mrs. Frisby’s house, like the Beavers in Narnia, like Winnie the Pooh, like a fairy tale without the gore. Children often make homes in the trees when they play outside. That overturned log, with the carpet of moss, that’s the dining room table. Your house is over there, underneath the mountain laurel. Mine is deep within the magnolia, and if you want to come in you have to pay me five acorns and six leaves.

I watched the documentary “Reel Injun” the other night, and in it John Trudell says that everyone, regardless of where we’re from originally, used to wear feathers in their hair, and that we’re all trying to get back to what we’ve all become. In particular, he talks about white people trying to culturally borrow and tap into the “Indian” experience. This is the quote,

“They were in a way trying to imitate us but in another way they were trying to remember who they were.

Every human being is a descendant of a tribe. So these white people, they’re the decedents of tribes. There was a time in their ancestry when they wore feathers, and they wore beads, and shells. There was a time in their ancestry, before this colonizing mentality came and did to them, to turn them into the white people they are – and then it came and did it to us; the very same thing that happened to us happened to them.” (John Trudell, Reel Injun – a film by Cree filmmaker Neil Diamond)

I’ve been thinking about this a lot (especially in conjunction with my Anthropology studies). We went from egalitarian to agriculture to state level to what we are now and it’s corrupted our hearts. We’ve inflated our population and we’ve inflated our opinion of ourselves. What’s the solution? I have no idea. I just want to live in a tree.

"... all my lovers were there with me, all my past and futures."

