crossed

We’re going to look at another house to rent in a little bit and I’m nervous. Nervous that I’ll fall in love. Already I feel like a girl awaiting a first date with someone she’s had a crush on for a long time. Same butterflies, same fidget.

Instead of fluttering around like a bird caught under a roof I figured I would write here. I don’t want to get my hopes up (but who are we kidding – they’re up!).

The house is in this little town – the one we’ve had our eye on for a long time and that we visit often. It’s just twenty minutes from downtown Knoxville but feels like another world. Close to the mountains, it has a coffee shop and library that we love. A used book store. A park system that interconnects the town. You don’t have to drive much. We could walk to the pool and to school (oh hey that rhymes).

Fingers crossed. Cross yours for me?

 

8 thoughts on “crossed

  1. Oh, Mary. Both houses had pros and cons, but the one I was excited about the most turned out to be a dud — like all the men I dated before my husband. Pretty on the surface, but a hot mess underneath! I’m hoping for that certain feeling, you know? Thank you for coming over here — it’s good to know I still have souls listening even when I’ve been away for a long time!

  2. I am so glad you’re back, Chrissy! i missed you so much. Sorry the house wasn’t the right one, but the perfect place will show up soon. I believe that. I love the photo of you up top. Lovely to see your face. Lovely to be back here. xo

"... all my lovers were there with me, all my past and futures."

